Organising Committee - 2023

The Approval Committee is headed by Convenors who act as the ‘friend, philosopher and guide’ of this exercise and help in evolving consensus on the final draft SOP.

  1. Dr. Joy Karamana Mugambi
    Vice President- Commonwealth Medical Association East/Central/South Africa Region; Council Member WONCA Africa Region; Convenor Human Rights Committee, Kenya Medical Association; Chair Kenya Association of Family Physicians

Lawyers, law professionals, and other prominent persons associated with the healthcare sector or having the requisite expertise in medical negligence form this committee. The Advisory Committee aids and advices the Organising Committee on the legal aspects of the SOP.

  1. Adv. Arunava Mukherjee
    Advocate: Supreme Court of India; Associate: The Medlegal Attorneys
  2. Adv. Balaji Srinivasan
    Advocate-on-record: Supreme Court of India; Managing Partner: The Medlegal Attorneys
  3. Adv. Mahendrakumar Bajpai
    Advocate: Supreme Court of India; Editor: Medical Law Cases For Doctors
  4. Adv. Mayank Kshirsagar
    Advocate: Supreme Court of India; Associate: The Medlegal Attorneys
  5. Adv. Yogendra Singh
    Advocate: High Court, Mumbai

The Approval Committee comprise of doctors only, especially those who are well versed in the Medico-legal space. The Approval Committee is responsible for making the necessary changes in the draft SOP after considering the comments of all the reviewers and for preparing the final draft SOP after due deliberations.

  1. Dr. Deepa Khandelwal Vats
    Senior otorhinolaryngologist & Paediatric Sleep specialist: DHA Dubai; Fellow of European Board of Otolaryngology & Head neck surgery (Austria); Member of Emirates Medical Association UAE; Member of Association of Otolaryngologist of India
  2. Dr. Prashant Nasa
    Head: Critical Care Medicine; Chairman: Prevention and Infection Control: NMC Specialty Hospital, Dubai
  3. Dr. Vinod Shidham
    Founding Editor: CytoJournal; Founding Director: Cytopathology Fellowship Training Program and Fine Needle Aspiration Biopsy (FNAB) Cytology Service - Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

Reviewers comprise of nominees from medical societies, editors of medical journals, medico-legal experts, prominent doctors, and hospitals. They suggest changes in the draft SOP and any new clauses that needed to be added in the SOP.

  1. Dr K Marudhachalam
  2. Dr. Ashish Khanna
    Associate Professor and Vice-Chair of Research, Director Perioperative Outcomes and Informatics Collaborative (POIC) Department of Anesthesiology, Section on Critical Care Medicine: Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Atrium Health Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center Medical Center Boulevard  \  Winston-Salem, NC 27157p 336.716.4498  \  f 336.716.8190, USA
  3. Dr. Bina Rabadia
    Specialist dermatologist
  4. Dr. Carlos Sanchez E
    Head of the Critical Care Services Hospital General IESS Quevedo, Ecuador, South America, USA
  5. Dr. Gentle Shrestha
    Treasurer: Nepalese Society of Critical Care Medicine; Joint Treasurer: Society of Anaesthesiologists of Nepal; Executive Editor for Journal of Nepalese Society of Critical Care Medicine; Board of Director and Chair of Asian Oceanic chapter, Neurocritical Care Society.
  6. Dr. Jorge Núñez
  7. Dr. Maher Albahrani
    Senior consultant Anesthesiologist and Intensivist, Oman
  8. Dr. Mayank Vats
    Senior Pulmonologist, Sleep Medicine, Interventional Pulmonologist and Critical care Medicine; Author and Researcher: Rashid and Dubai hospital and Dubai Medical College; Executive member of Inclusion and Diversity Committee, American Association
  9. Dr. Mohit Bansal
  10. Dr. Monika Gulati kansal
    Senior Consultant ICM, Ng teng Fong General Hospital, NUHS, Singapore; Cloudphysician, Bangalore
  11. Dr. Nigel Kuriakose
    Official Nominee: President-Indian Medical Association (NRI Branch / Nedumbassery branch) Kerala State; Specialist Anesthesiologist & Intensivist: Sultan Qaboos University Hospital, Oman
  12. Dr. Sai Prasad Gadapa
    Physician at Holy Family Medical Center, Chicago; Director at Swarupa Narsimha Healthcare, Founder of TelemedReferral App; Member of AAPI (American Association of Physicians of Indian Origin); Member of AMA; Member of IMA Hyderabad City
  13. Dr. Seema Tekwani
    Critical Care Medicine Specialist: Grady Memorial Hospital, Atlanta, USA
  14. Dr. Vasudev Murthy
    Official Nominee: Ministry of health, Brunei Darussalam;Specialist Forensic pathologist: Ministry of health,Brunei Darussalam
  15. Dr. Vivek Dubey
    Consultant Physician and Intensivist; Member: Royal college of Physicians of Glasgow (MRCP); Fellow: Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh (FRCP); Fellow of American College of Chest Physicians (FCCP); Member: Association of Physicians of India (API)